On this page:  About Us | 2022 Referee Awards

Camberwell Referees Association is a branch of the Victorian Basketball Referees Association (VBRA), and provides referees for Junior Domestic basketball for Whitehorse Mustangs, Balwyn Blazers and Koonung Comets in the Eastern Districts Junior Basketball Association (EDJBA), as well as referees for the VJBL for Camberwell Dragons. We’re also responsible for providing referees for Senior Domestic competitions that are managed by these affiliated clubs and the Community Basketball League (CBL), which fields 503 teams in the Junior Domestic competition.

The Association aims to provide people with an entry into refereeing the game of basketball, regardless of their previous experience or involvement with the game. We welcome people who would like to become referees at the highest level, as well as those who would just like a better understanding of the game and some extra pocket money.  This also applies to those who’ve had a break and want to get back into the sport.

The Camberwell Referee Association AGM is held in February, and this is a compulsory day for all officials to attend.

For further information:


2022 Annual Referee Awards

Congratulations to all award winners and nominees:

Category Referee(s)
Referee of the Year (WINNER) Jonah Fleming
Referee of the Year (WINNER) Andrew Cole
Referee of the Year (NOMINEE) Ethan Coleman
Referee of the Year (NOMINEE) Chen Lay Hwa
Referee of the Year (NOMINEE) Ryan Tatlis
Most Improved (WINNER) Russell Parry
Most Improved (WINNER) Daniel Adetunji
Most Improved (NOMINEE) Mauricio Payan Martinez
Most Improved (NOMINEE) Anika Rakesh
Most Improved (NOMINEE) Thomas Rigby Blake
Rookie of the Year (WINNER) Jack Cotterell
Rookie of the Year (WINNER) Emma Thomas
Rookie of the Year (NOMINEE) Oliver Hore
Rookie of the Year (NOMINEE) Lexi McIntosh 
Rookie of the Year (NOMINEE) Sienna Gabrielson
Sibling Award (WINNERS) Liam & Amy Rooney
Sibling Award (NOMINEES) Jack & Charlie Quartel
Sibling Award (NOMINEES) Alex & Joe Whitehead
Rising Star (WINNER) Mia Vireze 
Rising Star (WINNER) Tom Whiston 
Rising Star (NOMINEE) Sam Campitelli
Rising Star (NOMINEE) Jono Baird
Supervisor of the Year (WINNER) Angus Russell
Supervisor of the Year (NOMINEE) Luca Webb
Supervisor of the Year (NOMINEE) Jack Quartel
Game Day Hero of the Year (WINNER) Joe Whitehead
Game Day Hero of the Year (WINNER) Alex Whitehead
Game Day Hero of the Year (NOMINEE) Russell Parry
Game Day Hero of the Year (NOMINEE) Julie Grove
Appointment Legend of the Year (WINNER) Ethan Coleman
Appointment Legend of the Year (NOMINEE) Heidi Cannell
Appointment Legend of the Year (NOMINEE) Che McGuire
Appointment Legend of the Year (NOMINEE) James Wells
Chairperson Award (WINNER) Elizabeth Ong
Chairperson Award (NOMINEE) Daniel Mazzei
Chairperson Award (NOMINEE) Ashton Coronica