Youth League Champions

Congratulations to the Camberwell Dragons Youth League Men’s team who have taken home the Division 2 Championship in stunning fashion.

In what will go down as one of the greatest days in Camberwell’s history, the Dragons defeated the Coburg Giants 85-75 to secure the clubs first ever senior’s championship. The Dragons got off to a shaky start ending the 1st quarter down 18-22, but began to settle in the second taking the half time lead 45-39. It was obvious the boys were nervous heading in, but led by captain Mark Jeffers and league star Matt Barr the Dragons managed to slowly gain control and take the lead. From then on it was big shot after big shot for both teams with defence becoming the key factor in the 3rd.

Reagan Ibbotson came off the bench providing a massive defensive energy getting his hands on almost everything. He finished the game with a huge 11 rebounds, 5 steals and 5 blocks in what was a crucial performance. The 4th proved to be a tense and nerve racking one for the crowd as Coburg went on a run and got within under 10 points, but as they have done season, starters Marr Barr, Mark “Rudy” Fernandez and Pete Maunder stood up, and as he has done all final series, captain Mark Jeffers led them across the line. He finished with 14 points, 10 rebounds & 8 assists, closing out the game and bringing the championship home.

Matt Barr was named finals MVP, and he finished with a game high 24 points, along with 5 assists & 3 steals. For the game box score CLICK HERE

After what was an incredible season, with Camberwell dominating the pre season tournament winning the title and dominating the regular season finishing first, 3 game clears of any other team, the Dragons proved they were the best, deepest and most drilled team all season, and truly deserved to be crowned the Champions. We would like to congratulate Julian Fields and Ezra Kumar for guiding these young players throughout the year. It has been a fantastic achievement in the first season in the League, well done coaches.


For more photos from the game CLICK HERE

The Camberwell Dragons would like to thank everybody who was involved in the team. It has been incredible to be a part of something so special and the club is thankful and proud of your efforts, and will always remember the team that brought the club its first Championship. To all spectators who came early and packed out the Dragons lair, the club and the team would like to thank you for making the atmosphere incredible, the noise deafening, and the occasion so special.

VJBL finals time is coming up in the coming weeks, and we hope the club can continue to support each other, and continue this amazing success the club has had in recent times.

Camberwell Dragons and the Youth League Men’s team would like to pay special tribute to the following people that have helped on many occasions during the season: Georgia Wilson, Charlotte Grieve, Anthony Cullen, Ezra Kumar, Meg Wilson, Em Wilson, Francis Brennan, Chris Ewart & Justin Boyd. We would like to thank everyone that supported us on Sunday at the Grand Final: Wendy Davis, Sue Meade, David Mcguiness, Sarah Brentnall, Maria Croce, Elyce Lambrou, Trevor Mein, John Wilford, Rudy Lo, Jenny Borg, Lynda Wallace, Paula DeLang, Bec Wegener, Steve Joseph, Liam Dobson, Harry Sutton, Ossika Xavier, Miranda Charlton, Em Ewart, Connor Matthews, Tom Dunstan, Priya Chaudhri & Maya Halfpenny, Damon Lowery, Brian Vaughn, Vivienne Smith, Mal Tralaggan and to everyone else that chipped in across the day we are very thankful. We would like to thank everyone that put their hand up during the season to assist with game day duties across the Big V season.


<--Back to Previous Page